Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Valpollicello Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 13, 2016, 12:07 PM
    Should I leave science?
    I am a postdoctural scientist. I am my fourth year of postdoc work at my third university. I have recently moved abroad from my country of origin. This move has caused a lot of upheaval and my husband is currently still 'at home.' I am currently trying to decide if this career is worth dragging him around the world for.

I do love the work, the travel and the people. The freedom at work I have is fantastic, I enjoy being able to set my own agenda and follow whatever happens to interest me. I enjoy writing and have been told I have a talent for it. Also, to my own surprise, I relish teaching and interacting with students. However, although I have a handful of publications and more on the way, I currently have no independent funding. It is hard to judge if I 'have what it takes'. I worry I might have already missed important milestones for having an academic career and that I cannot sustain the energy required for the number of hours needed.

I worry I am making a mistake asking my husband to move out here. I have already taken him away from his home town and now I am asking him to leave his first real job. I find it difficult to talk to him about this as he does not react well to indecision.

I am also scared to leave this path, the one I have doggedly followed this far for the unknown. I have many talents and skills so I believe I could transition to another career. Whether I could find it in my husbands current location I don't know.

I need to make a decision soon, we cannot sustain living apart (emotionally or financially). Any advice on how to decide?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Mar 13, 2016, 12:37 PM
    How much school do you have left?

Mar 13, 2016, 12:48 PM