Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rekincaid Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 22, 2016, 09:10 AM
    Can a company send me a 1099 for a year that they did not pay me?
    I work as an independent contractor. I started working for a client in December, 2015. I billed them on Jan. 1 for the December work. They paid me on January 30, but they sent me a 1099 for 2015 for the amount that they paid me in 2016.

Is this legitimate? Do I then have to declare this income for 2015 even though I did not receive it until 2016?

Regards,

Ron Kincaid
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Feb 22, 2016, 10:30 AM
    Yes, it's legitimate. The income goes on your 2015 taxes.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 22, 2016, 03:28 PM
    It IS legitimate if the company you billed is on an accrual basis, meaning the expense when it is accrued (you work in December was accrued in December).

If they are on a cash basis, they charge the expense in the year it is paid.

Assuming you are on a cash basis, you are NOT obligated to carry the income in 2015, but it might be wise to do so to avoid the need to explain WHY you carried the income to 2016 should any tax authority ask that question.
    dhrnrcpa Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Mar 3, 2016, 10:59 AM
    Incorrect. As a rule, 1099's are based upon payment date, not accrual date. If not, cash basis taxpayers would have to include income they had not been paid for a year early.
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 3, 2016, 11:21 AM
    I stand by my answer!
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Mar 3, 2016, 11:36 AM
    AtlantaTaxExpert, you say it depends on the basis used by the company you billed. But then you say 'assuming YOU are on a cash basis.' Does your cash basis accounting trump the company's accrual basis, if that's the case?