Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    enlighten_me Posts: 12, Reputation: 1

Apr 12, 2007, 10:49 PM
    Depressed and low-self esteem
    For me, each day is a battle - for acceptance, approval, self-esteem, and happiness. I'm not good at talking to or chatting with people at all. If I try, it comes across as sounding very dumb, so I rather stay quiet in the presence of other people. As a result, I do not have any close friends I can talk to - only friends I hang out with once in a while. People around me are nice in general, but they don't like to include me or let me in on things on a more personal level because I'm boring and not cool to hang around with. I know I sound demanding and needy, but I just feel so left out and unwanted. I like this guy, but I know I am foolish and won't stand a chance because I'm not good enough to deserve it. As I am typing this, the solution seems so obvious... just tell myself to think positive, the choice to be happy is mine, and self-acceptance is the key to high self-esteem and confidence. But being a person who is fun to talk to cannot happen overnight because it is hampered by my lack of confidence. And it does not help that people around me seem to exclude me more and more. This cycle just keeps going, and I find it hard to truly believe that one day I will find happiness and confidence. I also find that this depression is also making it hard for me to concentrate on daily activities. What should I do to gain more self-esteem?
    phillysteakandcheese Posts: 973, Reputation: 356

Apr 13, 2007, 09:54 AM
    Understand this: You have inherent value just being who you are.
    You have unique ideas and perspectives that you can bring to the table. You can do things that make a difference to yourself and the way you feel. We all have potential. You have value, just for being who you are!

You shouldn't feel dumb.