Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    GARY FRANCE Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 13, 2016, 05:45 PM
    Teaching credential program
    I'm new to Calif. from Texas. There I had Teaching Certification in Special Ed but soon left the field while doing research on Special Ed for Children with Brain Injuries. I hoped to start a special program but there were no funds in Texas and very little knowledge of brain injuries. They were still stuck on the idea that children don't have to worry about brain injuries because they will "grow" out of them and other parts of the brain will take over. Wrong!
    Entered GWU and got my Gradate Certificate on Special Education for Children With Brain Injuries. Now I'm back in San Diego and wish to try again. I don't see any programs specializing in brain injury. LD, Behavioral Disorders, etc. won't cut it, they need very specialized teaching and their parents need very specialize counseling.
    In all, I have a MS Rehabilitation Counseling, past Special Ed Teaching Credentials, a Graduate Certification in Special Ed for Children with Brain Injuries and 25 year experience with both adults and children with traumatic brain injures. How can I find info in this area in Caif. For teaching and rehab for brain injured? I am 62 now an want to get something going before retirement.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Jan 13, 2016, 05:59 PM
    I'm floored that the schools you attended didn't give advice on where the jobs are. And except in big cities, I imagine that the funding for 'special programs' doesn't exist. The entire US is suffering huge cutbacks under Medicaid and Obamacare and special ed (which most parents get Medicaid for). I'm having a tough time too, as a senior with Medicare and Medicare advantage plans that cover less and less. Brain injuries are still handled on a case by case basis - aren't they? Do you actually know of 'programs?'