Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    eeking Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 5, 2015, 01:17 PM
    Light Speed Broadcasts
    I’m a writer. I'm working on a story. It’s sold actually, but they want some changes and I’m trying to figure out the science..
    IDEA:
    A distant planet picks up broadcasts from Earth, so the inhabitants have some knowledge of us, and know that life is out there. A "man" on the alien planet gets part of his consciousness encoded into a light beam that is sent out into space.
    When it hits earth -It is able to project itself and appear to be human. When the light fades the man vanishes, leaving a message that he is long dead. (It's a love story.) But the question is what broadcasts would he have received time wise. His knowledge of earth would be limited, ending at a certain time...

This is the end/explanation.
    Thank you in advance for your help!
    “ My people developed a holographic beam so powerful it could be projected through space. Through light-years. It is more advanced than anything on Earth, so advanced that some actual particles of my being were intertwined with the particles of light being projected. So it was like
    I was actually here, next to you, talking to you,
    Laughing with you. But I was not. I am not.
    “When we sent the beam of light traveling into
    Space my particles were woven into it, not all of them, of course. But enough particles of my consciousness were intertwined with the particles of light so that I could interact with anyone I discovered.. . So that I could learn more about the world we’d previously only
    Known through television broadcasts.. .
    “I traveled in a spaceship made of light. Now that
    The light has died so have the particles of my
    Consciousness that were interwoven with the beam... The real 'me, ' the corporeal 'me,' died --- HOW MANY? Light years ago."