Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Latzi Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 24, 2015, 04:09 PM
    Ear pain
    Hello there,

I'm a sound engineer. In the recent months I feel pain right behind my ears. It's quite weird because it doesn't cause any hearing loss or vertigo or vomiting or any symptoms what I usually read about. The only thing what I feel is after listening music there's this pain behind my ears. It lasts for a few days and it goes away. Certain frequencies (middle and a bit higher) and loudness are seem to be main causes as I experienced. Sometimes the pain is slight and it gets worse after a day or two.
    I was at the hospital several times (dentist, operative dentistry, otolaryngology) to find out what should be the problem but they found nothing. No bad teeth or dysfunction in the jaw, no hearing loss, no damages, no infections, nothing at all, everything is normal. Should I visit a neurologist or maybe someone else?
    It really affects my job thus my future.

Thank you for reading!

Kind regards,

Latzi
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Oct 24, 2015, 04:26 PM
    I don't know. My own experience is that all my ear problems (basically 3 times in my 68 years) were from dental problems, but they weren't evident each time.
    For some people, it's damage to the eardrum from repeated loud sound.
    For others, it's mastoiditis.
    But I assume that the doctors you saw ruled those out.
    I'd go back to looking at your molars. Except that you have it equally behind each ear, and that makes it unusual for any of what I suggested.
    Eustacian tubes can get clogged, but that would have been found too, and you would feel them.
    If you can afford a neurologist, sure.
    Latzi Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 26, 2015, 04:02 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by joypulv View Post