Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    99tajae Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 10, 2015, 01:41 PM
    Can I apply for a work permit while visiting canada
    Good day,

I have over three years experience being a caregiver for the elderly,also have

Certificates and Dipolma as a caregiver, I am currently visiting canada and have

Been offered a job as a caregiver. Can I get a work permit. Would appreciate your

Honest opinion.

Thank you

CV.
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Sep 10, 2015, 03:34 PM
    Nope... you will have to do all of that BEFORE you visit. And its not likely they will issue one.
    CravenMorhead Posts: 4,532, Reputation: 1065
    Adult Sexuality Expert

Sep 11, 2015, 07:24 AM
    I am more optimistic as to Canada issuing you a work permit, but you need to get it done while you are OUTSIDE of the country. You're a tourist right now, not a labourer. You need to leave the country, apply for the work permit, then return. It seems like a bit of a run around, but that's life and bureaucracy.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Sep 11, 2015, 01:04 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by 99tajae View Post
    Good day,

I have over three years experience being a caregiver for the elderly,also have

Certificates and Dipolma as a caregiver, I am currently visiting canada and have

Been offered a job as a caregiver. Can I get a work permit. Would appreciate your

Honest opinion.

Thank you

CV.
    You will have to apply to immigration for this. The people who want to hire you have to apply as well. So, no, you can't just enter the country and get a work permit.

Also, if all of this works out for you, do not hand over your passport to your new employer.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Getting a Work Permit while visiting Canada [ 23 Answers ]