Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Mickster4 Posts: 24, Reputation: 2

May 31, 2015, 07:33 PM
    At Work if I counted up the Till wrong will I get fired
    Just had a quick question I work in Retail and work the register at a shoe store. Tonight I found an extra hundred dollars that I didn't add to my deposit. Can I just tell my boss that I was $100 bucks over and get fired, or just tell my boss I found 2 $50 Bills just laying around? In a Pickle, Thanks
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

May 31, 2015, 07:37 PM
    How about just telling the truth?
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Jun 1, 2015, 03:13 AM
    I have a feeling that you kept 100 because you added wrong and thought it was overage that was free money, and then added again and realized you were wrong?
    Whatever you say is going to be suspect.
    If I'm wrong, please explain exactly what happened, and maybe we can help.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jun 1, 2015, 06:59 AM
    You tell the truth, if you tried to steal the 100 dollars, most likely you will get fired.
    If your drawer is 100 dollars short, most likely you will get fired.

But, the truth is always best.
    CravenMorhead Posts: 4,532, Reputation: 1065
    Adult Sexuality Expert

Jun 1, 2015, 07:11 AM
    On top of that most places have cameras focused on the tills and where the tills will be counted. This is a security measure to prevent cashiers from doing dodgy things. So... Talk to your manager. It is better to deal with this with integrity then see how it comes out of the wash.

To remember in the future, regardless of what happens:
    1). If the float doesn't line up with what you should have, count again.
    2). If anything goes sideways, Severely over or under, go to your manager. The worst that will happen I that you'll get written up.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jun 1, 2015, 08:42 AM