Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Ladyk18 Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Apr 8, 2015, 10:42 AM
    Microsoft access- Sequential Numbering
    So I am trying to put together a form in Microsoft Access that will autopopulate a demobilization number immediately before saving the record. I am no expert in Access and am not sure where to physically put my coding.
    Here is the coding I am using... the fields are tailored to what I have in my working copy.

Me.demobgenerator = Nz(DMax("[Demob Number]", "Master Database"), 0) + 1
    DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSaveRecord

So where should I put this coding / is it correct for what I want? See below for more details...

The form based on my query will pick up records that have the status set to demobbing and transfers the selected fields from the datasheet to the appropriate boxes on the form. I would like the demobilization number txt box to automatically recognize the incident number (field in the datasheet) and the apply the next available number (starting at 1 to say 00000) for that demobilization at that incident. (I would also like to have '-D-' separating the info.)
    (Example : Incident-D-001, or TIM001-D-001 but then for another incidient TIM002-D-001, TIM002-D-002, TIM002-D-003... etc.)
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Apr 8, 2015, 11:16 AM
    Please see my blog on Sequential Numbering. https://scottgem.wordpress.com/2009/...ial-numbering/ It discusses all these issues and more.

If you have any questions after reviewing the blog please fee free to ask.

Apr 8, 2015, 11:35 AM
    Hi Scott,
    I did indeed start my search with reading your blog however, I need clarification as to where the coding would physically go in the VBA? See attached photo... You'll notice I have the coding between savebutton_Click and Private Subsavebutton_Click_Err...

Attachment 47292

Apr 8, 2015, 11:44 AM