Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    yoeasie Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 16, 2015, 09:23 AM
    If you had to choose, would you work at Chipotle, Old Navy in a mall, or a hospital?
    Can't decide which one to pick for part time.
    talaniman Posts: 54,327, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

Feb 16, 2015, 09:31 AM
    What kind of work would you rather get paid for, serving food, hanging clothes, or changing bed pans?
    ma0641 Posts: 15,675, Reputation: 1012
    Uber Member

Feb 16, 2015, 02:16 PM
    To me, a hospital would give you greater possibility of future advance, even if part time. What are your future plans?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Feb 16, 2015, 02:28 PM
    As a young married, I worked part time as a physical therapy aide and picked up all sorts of useful knowledge that I later used as a medical transcriptionist at home while raising kids. Knowing hospital procedures and terminology has always been an advantage. Like ma0641 said, your chances of advancement and hearing of other openings there would be greater working at a hospital, especially once you have your foot in the door.
    DoulaLC Posts: 10,488, Reputation: 1952
    Uber Member

Feb 16, 2015, 03:34 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by yoeasie View Post
    Can't decide which one to pick for part time.
    It would depend on what my job responsibilities would be at each location, the pay, hours required, does it work well around my school schedule if that is a consideration, available transportation for the distance needed to get to work, and would it have the potential to lead to something I might like to do in the future. For example, if I was thinking of working in the medical field at some point, a hospital would provide the opportunity to see the work required. It may help you in finalizing a decision for a direction to take in school, or it may have you realize that it isn't what you want to do after all.