Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Wyoung Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jan 21, 2015, 10:40 AM
    Am I a vet and entitled to VA benefits?
    I joined in 1996. Basic was a breeze. Half way through AIT, They discharged me. EPTS, medical/Honorable. I have never called myself a veteran. Recently, I was looking at buying a house and they asked if I was a veteran. I have no clue. MY DD214 states medical honorable. I never considered myself a vet, but legally, I am unsure.

If anyone can help me with this, that would be great because resources online really give no clear definition.

Thanks.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Jan 21, 2015, 01:34 PM
    You never saw active duty, so you are not a veteran.
    talaniman Posts: 54,327, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

Jan 21, 2015, 02:12 PM
    In the US your veteran status for benefits starts with your discharge papers from what I have surmised so the best course of action is to get your lost papers replaced and status verified by the VA.

Military Forms | Military.com

Getting a Replacement DD-214 or Military Service Records
    Loss of this all-important form is not the end of the world. Most veterans and their next-of-kin can get free copies of their DD Form 214 Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty - through theeVetRecs website or by mailing or faxing a completed Standard Form SF-180 to the National Archives.
    http://www.military.com/

Then you can determine your status and benefits you are entitled too.

Jan 21, 2015, 02:51 PM
    I have my DD214. It will state on it? I just was questioned by it from a realtor, to see if a VA loan was a viable option. I have never claimed to be a veteran, even in my career. Just curious really.
    talaniman Posts: 54,327, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

Jan 21, 2015, 02:59 PM
    You won't know until you check it out for yourself so call the VA. What could be easier than a phone call?
    Catsmine Posts: 3,826, Reputation: 739