Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    etui Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 19, 2015, 12:36 PM
    Salary and office hours change significantly is my employer required to give me a pay
    My office hours have increased by 26 hours a month.. is my employer required to give me a raise? I took the salaried position when our office hours where as your see 26 hours less..
    catonsville Posts: 894, Reputation: 91

Jan 19, 2015, 12:42 PM
    Good Luck, that is one of the downs of salary. Different story for hourly.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jan 19, 2015, 10:59 PM
    This is under ethics, not business law. Under business law, no they are not required to pay you extra. You did not say how many hours you were working, as a manager I often worked 65 to 75 hours a week on salary.

Ethically, why is the change, are they losing money and have to do this to keep the business open? If the company is in bad shape, perhaps from an ethics view point you should even take a reduced pay, for the good of the company.

If the company is merely trying to be greedy, then there is a issue where they should pay you for ethics.

But the real world does not operate by ethics, they work by laws. So sorry, no requirements
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jan 20, 2015, 05:58 AM
    As noted, there is no legal requirement to raise your salary. In a free market economy, employers pay what they think will keep their employees.

On an ethical basis, it might matter why you are working more. If the staff was reduced and you are working longer to keep the workload, then you could make the argument, that the employer is still saving money.

Bottom line is, if you want a raise you need to make a case as to why you are worth more money.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Jan 20, 2015, 06:25 AM