Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    terrcharrod Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 8, 2015, 12:51 PM
    Dual Residency:
    I am disabled veteran on SSD, living in NYC for the past 16 years, but enrolling in a heart transplant program at Baylor Hospital in Dallas. My disability status makes me exempt to federal and state taxes in either state. So the tax table will not apply in my situation. I am covered by Medicare and Medicaid. My health insurance is totally in force here in NY but it will not pay for post-op meds unless I am a resident of Texas. I might add that I'm am originally from Dallas, and all of my family is still there. Please explain the facts in this situation.
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Jan 8, 2015, 03:00 PM
    There is no such thing as dual state residency, so you are clearly a NY resident. To make the case that you are a TX resident you will have to move there. This is where it gets tricky, because there is really no solid definition of what "moving" means. Typically one's state of residency is the place that you think of and act like is your home - for example where you vote, where you have your cars registered, where your drivers license is issued, where you have your banking, tax, and insurance correspondence sent, and typically where you spend the majority of your time. For people who own or rent multiple dwellings in different states it can be a bit fuzzy, but if you don't have a home in TX I don't see how you can claim to be a TX resident.
    talaniman Posts: 54,327, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

Jan 8, 2015, 03:02 PM
    A Warning for Medicaid Beneficiaries Traveling Out of State | Virginia Disability Law Blog