Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lilian85 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Nov 8, 2014, 01:01 PM
    New job through manpow. For one year-can my new employer do this? Please read
    I graduated this year with a master's degree in economics. I got an OK average, but not top grades. I graduated from a good university and also had one year of industrial psychology, so all in all I have 6 years of higher education. Since it is a German compnay, it was a plus that I speak german fluently, english and another language. I got a job working with kind of simple treasury at the finance team of a corporation. I was supposed to work there for one year while the one having the position would take a degree. She has a bachelor's. They only wanted to sign the contract for 9 months, because they rather wanted to be safe than sorry, it seemed. But they tell me it is for one year, all the time. It scared me, but I needed the experience and the money.

Ok. It was a lot to learn!! So many things to get into, but knowing I have landed a master's in economics has made me confident that I will learn all of it, as well the fact that the woman having the position has a bachelor's.

Then after 2 weeks, I get to hear from manpower that the company had a complain. They thought I knew too little about book keeping/ accounting. So, they sent me to take classes for a week in the evenings, unpaid. I had to agree, if not they would fire me. I did my best, and it helped a bit. I got the basics, enough for the job. As well, we have plenty of accountants, who actually tell us what accounts to use, so I thought I was more than ready after the week.

I continue learing, and every day I learn new things, and it's still a huge load of tasks I need to handle. Then my boss calls me to her office again, and she wants me to take more classes ( because they are not the one paying my classes, but the company recruiting me, MP)