Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    b91511 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 3, 2014, 06:03 PM
    Fair treatment at work?
    Ive been working at a company for almost 8 years now. There are some changes going on currently as far as management trying to move people around and make things better. I was offered a supervisory position last week. They shook my hand, told me I was the right man for the job and it was mine. We discussed new responsibilities and changes and I was promised quite a pay bump. Everything seemed good, they are more than impressed with me. But a certain coworker who doesn't care for me heard the news and told management he would quit if I was put in charge. Management withdrew their offer to me because they don't want to lose anyone. They didn't offer anyone else the job yet, its just not me because he will quit if its me. And now I am, needless to say, mad. This doesn't seem right. Any advice??
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Nov 3, 2014, 08:06 PM
    I'd sit down and talk to management about how I felt, that you were looking forwards to this promotion and how YOU are now upset it was withdrawn, also for the reasons it was withdrawn and ask that they reconsider.

Do this in a calm manner.

If they aren't smart enough to see who the bigger person was between the two of you... then maybe its time to start circulating resumes. But don't announce that in case you don't actually find anything better.

Anouncing your intentions if they don't reconsider can seriously backfire on you depending on too many unknowns. So don't do that. Play it calm, cool and in a VERY mature manner... and let them wonder what you might do if they don't.

WHat you don't say could make a more powerful statement than what you actually do say. And it is less likely to bite you in the butt.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Nov 3, 2014, 11:39 PM