Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    debee Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Jul 25, 2014, 01:52 AM
    Is it so abnormal to have very few friends?
    Hi
    This is my first time on the site and I am looking for some opinions from other people so I thought this would be a great place to do just that :-)
    I'm a 45 year old female, divorced with 3 older kids who I love to bits, they are my world. The oldest (23) has flown the nest and lives with his GF, daughter (who is my best friend) is off to Uni in September on the other side of the country and my son has managed to land himself a full time job at 18.

Anyway, they are all growing up so quickly and I'm starting to panic ! I moved to my current home about 2 years ago, it's a small, rural town and I didn't know anyone and I had no friends. This was following my divorce, a new job, a new start. I have since met a new guy, who is great and we've been dating for about 14 months now. My problem is that I have no friends in the area, but this doesn't make me unhappy at the moment as I have a handful of work colleagues as friends and a couple of friends who don't live in this area.

I still feel like an outsider in my town. My partner has quite a large family, including sisters and a sister in law, who are all really nice people but they don't include me in any of their plans unless it's a get together that involves him. They arrange 'girls' nights out and trips away but I'm never invited. To be honest I'm not that bothered but it would be nice to be asked I suppose.

My question is; is it so weird to enjoy being without many friends? I am an introvert naturally but I do enjoy talking to new people and I'm not overly shy or awkward around others. I just worry that once my kids have all gone, I'll only really have my partner and I don't want to become dependent on him as my only friend in the area.

Thanks for reading, any opinion is greatly appreciated.
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member