Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rkeese Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 30, 2014, 08:09 AM
    Mass balance of cigarette smoke odor
    Hi,
    I hope you find this an interesting question. I recently purchased a great used car (’11 Hyundai Genesis 4.6) however it was previously owned by a smoker. I’m an engineer and love to try to solve problems so I’ve been attempting to rid the car of the offensive cigarette smell. I fabricated some activated charcoal “sachets” and placed under the seats while also placing some of the charcoal between the ribs of a new cabin air filter. I also placed small bowls of fresh ground coffee under the seats but the smell doesn’t seem to be diminishing. From a chemical perspective do you think there is a sort of “mass balance” such that little by little the chemical ppm making the smell is reducing and at some point will no longer be detectable? When I leave the car I can smell it on my clothes and even hair so I’m taking some of it “with me”! This surely isn’t some infinite source of evil chemistry is it? Or worst case is the detectable smell ppm small enough in relation to the source’s total “mass” that I’m doomed to its evil clutches forever?

Thanks in advance,
    Roger
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Jun 30, 2014, 08:14 AM
    Rent an ozone generator (they are very pricey items to buy outright), put it inside the car and close up all the windows... for at least a few hours... if it still smells after airing out after that.. repeat overnight. Anything else is wasting time.
    odinn7 Posts: 7,691, Reputation: 1547
    Entomology Expert

Jun 30, 2014, 10:38 AM