Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    booksbenji Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 2, 2014, 11:28 PM
    SS medical opt refund
    I noticed on my April bank statement that the SS has been taking $104.90 out for Medicare A(Mar, Apr, May). They sent a opt out form, I opt outed May 5th. I did not want Medicare because I'm a Veteran, my VA med copays is about same as Medicare. I could not afford both payments. Could I get a refund on those 3 Medicare payment, could use the $$.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Jun 3, 2014, 03:12 AM
    I don't think you can, because insurance isn't generally retroactive, or people would just wait to see if they need the coverage and get a refund if they don't need it. Plus many seniors do have both VA benefits and are willing to pay for Medicare.

But if you can get to a SS center nearby, it won't hurt to try. Their wheels grind slowly, IF they approve it.
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Jun 3, 2014, 04:17 AM
    And considering the performance of VA as recently discovered, I would recommending keeping options open, if any way possible. Unless you can prove that an error was made by CMS, I wouldn't hold out much promise for a refund. Their first position is going to be that you had the coverage available and it is not much different than buying coverage retroactively as in having an operation today and buying coverage to pay for it, tomorrow. Obamacare procedures come close to that (discover that you going to need expensive care and quickly get some insurance not having to worry about pre-existing conditions restrictions) but even Obamacare doesn't go that far, but I wouldn't bet that it didn't happen with all the shuffling that went on over the past 5 months.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!