Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    notcoolenough Posts: 95, Reputation: 7

May 28, 2014, 11:11 PM
    Broke And Trying To go To College
    After a major set back a while ago, I found myself homeless and broke until a gracious couple asked me to live with them rent free while I got my life back together.

I decided to take this opportunity and apply for school. My fees were paid through a California program called BOG and I also was granted financial aid.

Today my roommates sat me down to tell me they can't continue having me stay here. They are doing horrible financially as well and barely able to keep the apartment. Unless a miracle happens and I get a job ASAP, I will be unable to help them out financially and back to fend for myself while going to school unless I make the choice to drop out. i have no family here and one friend who is unable to house me.

I am new to financial aid and as far as info goes, they aren't very forthcoming. I do not know how much I will be getting and when and I am hoping I can use it to pay rent here as long as I can somehow find the money to keep me here until then.

My question would be whether this is a feasible option. I made sure to let FAFSA know that I am living off campus. I recall having an ex friend that used her financial aid to pay her rent. I do not imagine it paid for all of it though.

What are my options while I keep my fingers crossed in hopes I land a job and come across some money within the next couple of weeks? Are there any programs out there or people in my situation?
    ma0641 Posts: 15,675, Reputation: 1012
    Uber Member

May 29, 2014, 12:59 PM
    So you take the financial aid money and pay the rent? How do you pay for tuition and books?
    DoulaLC Posts: 10,488, Reputation: 1952
    Uber Member

May 29, 2014, 01:11 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ma0641 View Post
    So you take the financial aid money and pay the rent? How do you pay for tuition and books?