Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mohan_satyan Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 4, 2007, 01:00 PM
    Tax filing status, I'm on H1, my wife on H4
    I've been working in US on H1 status since Jan 2005.
    I got married on 12/13/06 back in my country and my wife arrived in US with me on 1/3/07.

Now, can I file 2006 taxes in 'Married Joing filing' status ?

I've seen the following info on one of threads but I'm not sure if I can do Joing filing when my wife hasn't accompanied me to US in 2006.

Answers are appreciated.

Thanks.

----------------------------------

Your wife probably does not qualify for a SSN, but can get an Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN) by filling out Form W-7, getting a photocopy of her passport notarized as a true copy, then mail these two form, along with your jointly prepared tax return, to the address in the W-7 instructions. The IRS will review the forms, issue the ITIN,
    Insert the number on the tax form, process the form and mail her back her ITIN under separate correspondence. The W-7 (with instructions) can be downloaded from Internal Revenue Service (http://www.irs.gov).
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 13, 2007, 01:18 PM
    Yes, you CAN file jointly with your wife. Her physcial location in 2006 is irrelevant.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

General Tax Query related to Federal and State Tax and Filing Status. [ 3 Answers ]

I am a Married Indian resident. I had visited US in 2006 twice on H1B. I have never been to US earlier. Period of Visit: March 2006-April2006 approx 44 Days - Income from NY. Stayed in NJ August 2006 – Sept 2006 approx 32 Days. - Income from NJ. Stayed in NJ My company paid the salary...

Tax filing for H4 - dependent - Wife and Son [ 4 Answers ]