Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hopeann1970 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 10, 2014, 01:05 PM
    Am I a Veteran?
    I would seriously like to know if I am a veteran.

I did my Basic Training and my AIT in 1992 and I came home. Went to my unit for a few months then I couldn't to do it anymore and got depressed and couldn't do it anymore emotionally. I gave back the bonus that they gave me for enlisting for the 8 years and they gave me an Honorable discharge in 2000.

The thing I would like to know is if I can apply for any benefits from this.
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Apr 10, 2014, 01:34 PM
    Probably. But it would depend on the specific benefits you are seeking.
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Apr 11, 2014, 06:36 AM
    There are many definitions for "veteran" of the military in the U.S. The following is the U.S. Census Bureau definition from Veterans - Definitions and Concepts - People and Households - U.S. Census Bureau :
    "Who are veterans?
    Veterans are men and women who have served (even for a short time), but are not currently serving, on active duty in the U.S. Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or the Coast Guard, or who served in the U.S. Merchant Marine during World War II. People who served in the National Guard or Reserves are classified as veterans only if they were ever called or ordered to active duty, not counting the 4-6 months for initial training or yearly summer camps.
    While it is possible for 17 year olds to be veterans of the Armed Forces, ACS data products are restricted to the population 18 years and older. "

I m a U.S. Navy veteran and had forgotten that part about reservists in the above definition, and also repeated on the Vet. Admin. website (below). I know a few reservists who would take umbrage at that definition, but if you look around you will probably find one that includes reservists who were never called up to active duty.