Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    eyes2blue Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 18, 2014, 02:18 AM
    Feel helpless and he wants a divorce.
    I am 55 years old and he wants a divorce. I currently do not have a stable job (I am a substitute teacher and haven't had a call for 3 months), a car or a bank account with any money in it. He basically controls the finances. I agreed to this because I made a mess with the prior bank.
    Now the history hard part... my health has not been great for several years, he says after the 3rd surgery he has had enough. He has no sympathy for me anymore.
    I found out he was using the computer to meet other women. In retaliation, I started gambling, 1) to get some money and 2) to get him where it would hurt the most. Of course, I agree that was stupid and of course, didn't work out to well. That is why I agreed to turn over the finances. Now he is fooling around with a married woman at work.
    I have no where to go and family cannot help me. I feel helpless in this divorce, what am I to do?
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Mar 18, 2014, 02:55 AM
    You really have little choice but to start shopping for a lawyer who will do your divorce and wait for payment. If you had a long marriage and raised children, then you should get a comfortable amount of his assets, at least good for a few years. If it was a recent marriage, and your health is a big factor in your ability to get back to work, then you need to discuss disability SS with your doctor. If neither apply, then I hope you work hard now to find options for shared living, such as other divorced women your age, and some work income.