Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    aishneru Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 6, 2014, 05:59 PM
    Which Bible version should I read?
    I want to know God, but I don't know where to begin.

I've been raised in a roman catholic family, but somehow I don't feel the sincerity at church (reciting memorized words, people who don't even acknowledge each other, icons and statues, etc.).

I've always said that I'll figure out this area of my life after college. It's been two years since I graduated and I am still lost at sea.

I was thinking, maybe I should just start with the bible. However, there are a lot of versions. Which one do I pick?
    freeindede Posts: 14, Reputation: 1

Feb 6, 2014, 06:46 PM
    You're right--there are a an awful lot of versions to choose from. Every version is either a translation or a paraphrase. None of them is perfect (although some are certainly better than others).

Is there a Christian bookstore in your area? If so, go there and start looking through the Bibles they have. Find one that YOU can READ--a translation, or a paraphrase, that is comfortable for you, that makes sense to you. (Translations that are easier to read might include the New International Version, the New Living Translation, and perhaps the New King James Version. A really nice paraphrase is the Message.)

Some people might tell you you MUST read one version or another--"if the King James Version was good enough for Jesus, it's good enough for me!!!" (keeping in mind that the King James version was published about 1600 years after Christ walked on the earth!).

But from where you are at: The important thing for now is to just start reading. A lot of folks say you should start with the Gospel of John (the 4th book in the New Testament). I'd say start with any of the 4 Gospels. They are the books that talk about Jesus, and His life, death and resurrection. A

And as you read, just start saying "God, if you are there, if this Book is true, then please show me!"