Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Jan 17, 2014, 08:15 PM
    Intermittent Internet Disconnection Wired and Wireless
    I have made no changes to my computers, but in the last 4 days, we have intermittent loss of internet connection. Theses drops occur on the average of once per hour for about 3 minutes duration. Pretty consistently, most likely 24 hrs per day.
    The provider (phone company) has checked their equipment, replaced the router (I have been using their routers for about 6 months), replaced the splitter in the outside box, and say they found an incorrect setting at the central office, which they corrected.
    They hung around yesterday until one of the outages finally occurred and I saw their tests of the incoming line and outgoing ethernet connection from the router, and they accessed the router data which all showed "connected" while (at the exact same time) the computers (wired) showed no connection.
    Question:
    What are the chances this problem will "follow me" if I change to a cable service?
    Thanks for any suggestions.
    odinn7 Posts: 7,691, Reputation: 1547
    Entomology Expert

Jan 17, 2014, 08:39 PM
    Is this DSL?

I had Verizon DSL for years and suddenly, after a storm, I had consistent disconnecting. I was sure it was their problem. Two separate times this happened.
    Long story short, there was "noise" in my phone line in the house. First time it was a phone line that one of the cats bit which must have been causing a voltage drop. The line wasn't bit through but there was a puncture in the shield. When I replaced that, all was good for months. The second time I finally narrowed it down (after very much work) to a bad phone.

As a side...I've been using cable internet now for almost 2 years and it is pretty flawless.
    Ultra Member

Jan 17, 2014, 09:33 PM
    Thanks odin. It is dsl I believe, through local phone company.