Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    alyazia Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 19, 2013, 07:48 AM
    Questions for a social worker!
    I need someone who majors in social work to answer these question, and what kind of social worker are you? For example, hospital social worker, school social worker etc. :
    1- how did you become involved in social work? (how did you select this major)
    2- What does a typical day looks for you?( what problems? How many clients per day?)
    3- What would you do if you happen to be in an awkward situation? if you have an example.
    4- What are some difficulties in social work job?
    5- how do you organize your work life and personal life?
    6- Where do you see yourself after 5 or 10 years?
    7- Do you have any advice or tips that can help me be a better social worker?

Please answer ASAP! Thank you!
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Oct 19, 2013, 10:11 AM
    I earned a grad degree in counseling psychology, but one of my internships was for nine months as a social worker.

What kind of social worker are you? I worked for (interned for) the Illinois Department on Aging. My base was a senior center in one of the Chicago suburbs.

1- how did you become involved in social work? (how did you select this major) I thoroughly enjoyed worked with patrons of all ages and personality types as a librarian, so I decided to learn more about human psychology and how to help people with personal problems.

2- What does a typical day looks for you?( what problems? How many clients per day?) When I was doing the Aging internship, I had probably five to seven clients on each of the two days I was there. Because it was an internship, I continued to work at my library job and also attended grad classes. And because all the the seniors I dealt with were homebound, I had to travel to their homes, so that took up time.