Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Alicesonb Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Oct 16, 2013, 03:26 AM
    Widow suffering PTSD needing a home
    Hi all: This is my first attempt at a forum (so to speak) in trying to find help with my issue. First I would like to say, I understand that everyone here has gone through a great ordeal and that in no way am I under the assumption that my problem is in anyway greater then anyone else's and I pray for all to receive the blessing they so deserve. However tomorrow marks the 2 year anniversary of my husbands death by suicide which I was a witness to after being held at gun point myself. Needless to say I have been diagnosed with several psychological disorders since then including PTSD which makes it very hard to work. I have filed for SSI and SSD however the states examiner found that although my symptoms are sever that I could get better with medication. Which isn't the case. Anyway I am left with extreme bills and living from place to place with whomever will house me at the time. I am in great need of any advice for help in the Dallas Texas area. The shelters here are not somewhere I can go due to joint custody of my minor children. And I have exhausted all means that I know of.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Oct 16, 2013, 04:13 AM
    I'm sorry this has happened to you and your children.
    These days almost everyone is turned down for SSI/SSD the first time, and you have to try again or hire a law firm, who will take some of your retroactive check as their fee. I'd suggest that you do that. They won't take the case if they don't feel that you have a good chance.
    Second, who shares custody of the children? I would go into a woman's shelter, if you can find a women only one, and visit the children where they are staying. Good shelters have staff who can help you with all the various programs that should be available to you.
    Alicesonb Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Oct 16, 2013, 04:28 AM