Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    acampingwewillg Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 4, 2013, 05:47 PM
    Panel change 100 to 200 amp plus spa hook up
    Although Im not a licensed electrician, I worked for one in the Pool/Spa electrical field for 15 years and did most of the electrical work including Service changes... this was all in California. My niece wants a Portable Spa installed which will include a service up-grade which she was quoted 4500.00 in New York. Im going back for a wedding and offered to do the Spa hook up to save her some cash but now with the Service change, Im concerned about local codes while applying what I know to be true out here. I don't have any specific questions but Id love to find a knowledgeable person in the greater Long Island area who I could run some questions by regarding local codes and possibly check on my work before and after completion before City/County inspection. Quite frankly, I thought I read that in some area's you Must be licensed to even pull permits? I know, kind of a long winded non specific question to ask. Thank you for any input.

Sep 4, 2013, 05:51 PM
    Obviously the "consult" on site would be fee based... just wanted to add that. Thanks
    stanfortyman Posts: 5,598, Reputation: 279
    Electrical & Lighting Expert

Sep 4, 2013, 05:55 PM
    "Greater Long Island" is a really big area. From what I know most of LI requires a license to do any work at all. Thing is, pretty much every locality has their own license.

Sep 6, 2013, 07:49 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by stanfortyman View Post
    "Greater Long Island" is a really big area. From what I know most of LI requires a license to do any work at all. Thing is, pretty much every locality has their own license.