Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    BrianaMD Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Aug 9, 2013, 10:46 PM
    Just received my (BSN), is this a good way to build up my resume
    I am currently 26 years old and I recently graduated. I only have a few months of actual experience outside of college. Most hospitals aren't looking for someone with no experience because it cost more to train them. I was considering becoming a nurse's aid, LPN or volunteering until I can gain some more experience.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Aug 9, 2013, 11:10 PM
    You got your BSN in nursing? And you want to go back to school to be an LPN? That doesn't sound right.

I graduated nursing school and 3 days later was working in Labor & Delivery.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Aug 10, 2013, 02:17 AM
    I'm not a nurse but I too am amazed that you weren't hired immediately. Where do you live? Did anything go wrong with your 'few months' of experience?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 10, 2013, 03:03 AM
    The school you graduated from should have a recruitment office,

There are lists of places looking for RN's, if you are looking at just one hospital, that may be issue.

There are nursing homes, there are doctors office, and all sorts of places. But no, there is no reason to do anything but be a nurse.
    Expert

Aug 10, 2013, 02:22 PM
    Chuck, most legitimate schools of nursing do not have recruiting offices. They have job fairs during the last semester of school before graduation.

It appears that the OP is wanting to take two steps back by wanting to be a CNA or an LPN, rather than moving forward with the degree she has now.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 10, 2013, 11:12 PM
    Would not the BSN be though a university ? Do they not do placement ?
    Expert

Aug 11, 2013, 01:35 AM