Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    inGen Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 9, 2013, 02:14 AM
    Is DNA cloning to create a dinosaur possible in future ?
    I'm no dinosaur expert though. But I have read both the Jurassic Park novels and I know that it is not possible to clone dino-organs from the DNA obtained through mosquitoes. The DNA sample from mosquitoes would contain mixed blood from a variety of dinosaurs of the Jurassic period. It is not possible to differentiate which DNA strand belongs to who. And it is not possible to create a dilophosaurus or a T-rex or a raptor within four years of time using machines and another lab equipments in present time. But, is it possible in the near future ? Would this the right way of craeting a dinosaur ? Would this be a right way of putting man and dinosaurs, two species separated by 65 million years, together ? Or is this way terribly wrong? Were dinosaurs destined to die during that period and are both these species not supposed to be allowed to put together in the same time-frame?
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Aug 9, 2013, 02:16 AM
    It's a work of fiction, but stranger things have indeed happened.
    Who's to say what exactly will be possible in the future, given enough research.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 9, 2013, 02:40 AM
    Scientist are actually trying to do this, most conclude that because DNA has a life of less than 1000 years, it is not possible,

But then, read this story
    SCIENTISTS CLONE DINOSAUR! | Weekly World News

But then this
    Cloning Dinosaurs - Fact Or Hollywood Fiction? ~ Tech Senser
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Aug 9, 2013, 07:36 AM
    The ethics of ALL cloning, all engineered life, all genetically modified organisms, is a complicated and ongoing discussion, that really has to be taken on a case by case basis, and even then is open to lots of argument.