Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    azmidnight Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jul 29, 2013, 12:16 PM
    Out of State Job - Resume Question
    I work in the education field and am looking at moving to Oregon in less than a year. I found a small school in the city I am moving to, and am interested in sending my resume and cover letter to them in hopes of gaining their interest and see if there is an open position or a need for a teacher.

It is a small school that is not part of the public school district, so they do not go through the same hiring process. The current staff, as far as I can tell, are almost all previous students of the school, so I worry they might not be too keen on outside employment. I want to send my resume and cover letter to them, but am unsure if I should just email out of the blue, send the resume and cover letter through postal mail, or wait until October when I plan on visiting.

Thoughts?
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Jul 29, 2013, 12:18 PM
    I'd mail it now -
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jul 29, 2013, 12:21 PM
    As a former teacher, I suggest you snail mail it now.
    teacherjenn4 Posts: 4,005, Reputation: 468
    Education Expert

Jul 29, 2013, 12:23 PM
    I'd mail it along with a scanned portfolio of examples of great teaching.

Jul 29, 2013, 12:24 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by teacherjenn4 View Post
    I'd mail it along with a scanned portfolio of examples of great teaching.
    What might this portfolio include? This idea intrigues me.
    Education Expert

Jul 29, 2013, 12:27 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by azmidnight View Post
    What might this portfolio include? This idea intrigues me.
    What is your specialty in education?

Jul 29, 2013, 12:29 PM
    I am a certified Montessori teacher, ages 6-9.
    Education Expert

Jul 29, 2013, 12:34 PM
    I am a certified Montessori teacher, ages 6-9.