Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    AmaJade Posts: 8, Reputation: 2

Jul 12, 2013, 02:47 AM
    Book Research: Plant life in different light.
    My question is unconventional and would ask you to dive fully into conjecture. It might be impossible to answer... That being said, onward with the question!

I'm an author, doing research for a book, and wonder what plant life would/could look like on a planet that is mainly exposed to infra-red light.

I understand how Earth plants use various forms of light to photosynthesize and grow. I also understand what significant infra-red light does to Earth plants. (Effecting flowering and stem growth).

Using this as a model, (or maybe not?), assuming a plant could grow in full on infra-red light, and very little visible, or UV light; (read as almost non-existant) what would it look like? How would it differ from "Earth plants"? What color would it be? etc.

Any help, whether based on scientific fact, or your own personal conjecture, would be greatly appreciated.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Jul 12, 2013, 05:48 AM
    How about a little non-conjecture too? This is from http://www.cannabisculture.com/articles/4576.html:
    The plants use red and infrared light to regulate stem growth and flowering response. Plant cells produce a chemical called a phytochrome, which has two versions. One version, PR, is sensitive to red light (660 nm). Red light converts PR into PFR. PFR signals the plant to grow short stocky stems and also helps the plant grow into specific shapes. The plants also use red and infrared light to measure uninterrupted darkness. As far as plants are concerned in terms of flowering, if there's no red light, it's dark.