Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    timmy23 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Feb 1, 2005, 03:04 PM
    Email address corrupted
    I am no expert, but this is the craziest thing I have ever seen.
    I recently switched from earthlink dial-up to Alltel dsl. After doing so, I contacted those in my address book of the change. One of those contacts came bouncing back as "undeliverable". Turns out it was a sibling who of course shares my last name. Well, the last name was changed somewhere after the SEND icon was clicked on. The last name which contains 5 letters was changed to "mcgdo". Since that did not match the proper address, it came bouncing back to me.
    Now here is where it really gets weird... My first name is mcgdogm (T-i-m-o-t-h-y) and it turns out that when I use my full name it gets changed to "mcgdogm". Chances are it did it here just before I spelled it out.
    So, my name is changed to "mcgdogm mcgdo".
    Yesterday I ordered a product online and when I entered my name, credit card info and address, everything came out fine except my name was changed to this weird encrypted mess.
    Please help me!!
    I have Spybot, Ad-Aware, Errornukker, Hijackthis, zone alert and a suit of armour lol What is this thing and can I kill it??
    Thanks in advance to the genius that can help me!
    psi42 Posts: 599, Reputation: 13

Feb 1, 2005, 04:03 PM
    Well, possibly:

1) Some software is implementing a search-and-replace for your name. Somehow this configuration was made unintentionally. Can you think of any "odd" software you might be running (ESPECIALLY content-filtering censorware ("parental controls"))?

2) Someone is screwing with you. (Unlikely).

Feb 1, 2005, 07:42 PM
    I'm not running anything that I know of that might have censoring tools.
    I have tried outlook express, Gmail and a mail service called Thunderbird and they all have the same encryption problem.
    Any other suggestions would be appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Tim