Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Loraine Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Feb 13, 2003, 07:25 PM
    Beastfeeding and alcohol
    I was wondering... I have a 7 month old who I am breastfeeding. I haven't had any alcohol of any kind (not that I ever drank much anyway) and my sisters want to take me out this weekend. I was wondering, now that he sleeps through the night am I able to go out and have like 4 drinks with them if I don't have to feed him for 9-10 hours later? Is it safe?
    plaidoe Posts: 12, Reputation: 1

Mar 18, 2003, 04:25 PM
    beastfeeding and alcohol
    :)

I just ran across your post today. Obviously you have already gone out... probably more than once. I hope that you did receive the information you were in need of. I am posting in return more for those who are wondering the same thing as you.

I am not a doctor, but I have read a bit on this and discussed this with my ob/gyn (I have 3 kids). It is not a matter of when you breast feed in comparison to when you are drinking. For example: If you go out to drink, the alcohol enters your blood stream and eventually into your breast milk. I am not sure how much of it makes in into your milk, but, of course, the more you drink, the more enters the milk.

Then the milk just sits and is stored until the baby feeds. At which time the milk (containing the alcohol) is expelled. In other words it doesn't just dissipate as time passes. It is stored until fed to the baby.

I hope that answers your question. If you need anything or would like to talk about it, let me know.

Hollie
    [email protected]
    Twinhearts Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 3, 2003, 09:15 AM
    beastfeeding and alcohol
    I know this is late also, but I just came across it.

It's okay to drink in moderation if you express your breast milk about 2 to 3 hours afterward and toss it out.
    This way, the alcohol is expelled from your body before you feed your child.

Twinhearts
    rrt69 Posts: 89, Reputation: 1