Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    breaker1 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 4, 2013, 08:05 AM
    Foreign transfer of money to US from sale of land
    Here is my situation: I am now an American citizen. I have lived in the US since 2004. Prior to coming here I lived in Italy. I am married to a native born male American citizen. While in Italy, I was a teacher and used my money to buy land.

Rather than selling the land before moving to the USA to marry here, I decided to keep the land in my native surname only in case things did not workout as sometimes they don’t. Well, they have worked out and we have a son. Now, we could use the money from selling the land to buy a home here to raise our son in a neighborhood with children and a good school system.

I could probably sell the land for approximately $ 350,000.00 USA dollars. So how can I transfer this money to the USA without paying exorbitant taxes, or any taxes for that matter, for the sale of land that never was paid for using even one American dollar; but through the sweat of several years of me working in my then homeland before marriage?

1) Can I transfer the money to the US all at one time if is coming from a savings account I still have in Italy without paying the IRS taxes on the amount transferred?
    2) OR….. can I transfer it to the USA as a gift to my son? Keep in mind I was not an American citizen until he was 4 years old. He was born in American.

We need a house. What can I possibly do to not have to pay taxes on money I earned and invested while I was then, and am still considered a dual citizen of Italy as well as the USA?

Thank you.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

May 4, 2013, 08:51 AM
    There are NO transfer taxes in the United States, though you would have to file Form 3520 to report the transfer to the IRS. That is informational only; no taxes are due on the transfer.