Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Gernald Posts: 901, Reputation: 93
    Expert

Apr 29, 2013, 01:06 PM
    What bike size do I need?
    I'm looking at purchasing my first road bike- but given limited funds and what not, at the moment I have to buy it online. I found a bike that seems to fit all my qualifications- that is it it pedals. But I don't know if it's too small or not.

I'm 5'5" almost 5'6" (that extra half inch matters). I was under the impression that I needed a 20.5"-21.5" frame. But I found a bike I like, in the price range I like that is 19" with a wheel size of 26" would that inch and a half make a real difference? I assume I can adjust the seat and all that, but I'm new to the whole road bike thing.

Here's the bike if anyone has any opinions: ROWER SZOSOWY ROMET HURAGAN 26 - WYPRZEDA

As always thanks!!
    dontknownuthin Posts: 2,910, Reputation: 751
    Ultra Member

Apr 29, 2013, 05:06 PM
    It depends as much on your proportions as your total height. I recommend you go to a few cycling stores and sit on several bikes and talk to them about what to look for. Educate yourself and see what you like.

Once you've determined in person what bike you like, you can look for a bike online that meets your criteria. There are many more variables with bikes than there used to be, so trying them out in the store is important. And you can often find a good deal on last year's model. In addition, some stores sell used bikes that have been tuned up and checked out, which I think would be a safer bet than just buying something online.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Apr 29, 2013, 06:18 PM
    You go to local shops, try them, sit on them, and decide what type you want. Then if you order it on line, do so. But many shops will deal with you, if you ask for lower prices
    Gernald Posts: 901, Reputation: 93
    Expert

Apr 30, 2013, 10:55 AM