Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sheshe14 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 26, 2013, 09:05 AM
    Pay While On Medical Leave
    I work as a manager for a retail corporation I am paid a weekly salary. I broke my ankle not on the job. Applied for a FMLA (family medical leave of absense). I had to use my vacation days to still receive a paycheck that was only 2 weeks.
    Being on salary should I not get at least a portion of my pay? I live in Marion County, Florida. I just received a bill for my insurance now I'm really confused. My FMLA was an approved one.
    odinn7 Posts: 7,691, Reputation: 1547
    Entomology Expert

Apr 26, 2013, 09:12 AM
    I don't think the company is obligated to pay you if you are on leave from something that happened outside of work. You would have to look at their policies but as for being a law, it's not likely.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Apr 26, 2013, 09:39 AM
    FMLA requires that your employer give you UNPAID time and hold your job for you. The employer is not required to continue salary or benefits during the leave. However, COBRA will allow you to pay the same rate the company pays for health benefits.

Getting paid for time out sick is subject to company policy. If your company has short and/or long term leave programs, that might have gotten you pay during that time. But you are not entitled for pay unless you work, at least, a partial day.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Medical leave due to pregrancy within US without pay [ 2 Answers ]