Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    luckyyellowhog Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Apr 11, 2013, 07:05 PM
    International Student self employment tax
    Hello,

I am currently working out my taxes and would appreciate any advice!
    I am an international student on OPT and have just filed my taxes for last year as I had a small paying internship, so submitted my W2.

As of January this year I am freelancing/ self employed until I go back to college in September. Is it correct I should submit a 1040-ES NR from and an 8843 form with it?

I am also confused as to how I am meant to estimate my earning for this year which I believe I will have to do? Shall I just be conservative and times what I have made so far this year by 3 (seeing as I am only working from Jan-Sept)? Will I only mention how much I expect to make not how much I have made so far?

Many thanks in advance for any help!
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Apr 12, 2013, 12:27 AM
    For five years on F-1 (including OPT) you are nonresident. During that period you do not pay self employment tax. You will complete schedule C or C-EZ (Form 1040) but you do not need to fill schedule SE. Your U.S. Tax Return: Tax Filing by Self Employed Sole Proprietor or Independent Contractor

Apr 12, 2013, 05:47 AM
    Many thanks MukatA!
    Do you know if I also fill out the 1040NR or ONLY the Schedule C?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 13, 2013, 11:39 AM
    You file the Schedule C WITH Form 1040NR.

Apr 13, 2013, 11:47 AM
    Thanks AtlantaTaxExpert! May I ask you another questions? I recently did a small paid internship last summer and received my w-2, which I filed this year with TurboTax. Do I have to file it again with the 1040NR and Schedule C? Do I include the earnings from that as well as myself employment earnings on the 1040NR? Many thanks,
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 13, 2013, 12:30 PM