Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    change2013 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 2, 2013, 08:18 AM
    How to obtain money from Philanthropists
    I am a retired disabled veteran. I am only receiving 40% disability from the Veterans Administration and trying to have it increased, however, it's taking forever. I need money to make home improvements and pay off my bills. What methods can I use to obtain money. Can you help.

Sincerely
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Apr 2, 2013, 11:42 AM
    I know of no way to get money without working for it.

You can apply to churches and charitable organizations and see if you qualify for any assistance.

You can also apply to the County for benefits.

If you are asking for donations that is not allowed here.
    dontknownuthin Posts: 2,910, Reputation: 751
    Ultra Member

Apr 2, 2013, 11:59 AM
    I would recommend that you contact Veteran's organizations like the VFW and see if they can recommend anything to you. Also, there are some community organizations that have volunteer days to make repairs to homes of elderly or disabled individuals. Perhaps if you called Habitat for Humanity, they would know of someone who would do this type of service.

Perhaps you should also consider giving up your home and get subsidized veteran housing such as an apartment that requires less maintanance. You would likely qualify for low-income subsidized housing, and an apartment would require less maintenance - it would be the landlord's responsibility.

These benefits do take forever to get approved and I understand how hard it is. However, if you can get by in the interim, once approved, they pay retroactive to the date of application once approved and you will receive a large check at that time. There is not a guarantee of approval, but you likely know whether you meet their application criteria.