Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    SIlentAmarok Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 18, 2013, 06:09 PM
    I want to move out on my own
    Hi I'm wanting to move out on my own.I'm 22 years old and I have a steady job working 40 hours a week and making roughly between 18-20+ an hour.

What I'm wanting to do is move out on my own into a preferred 2 bedroom place. I don't even have the slightest idea where to start. I have already look online but can't find anything in what I believe is my price range (400-600). I'm not sure if that is to tight of a price range cause I am kind of new to looking for a place.

What would I be looking into moving into, an apartment, or a house. Which would be cheaper?

Should I go to a real estate agent to find a place? Where do I look to find rent able places, the news paper, the internet?
    Please someone let me know something.
    Thank you :D
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Mar 18, 2013, 06:14 PM
    Apartment... houses cost a lot more because they are a lot bigger. Also utilities are higher for a house.

Also where you live makes a huge difference on prevailing rent... where I live $600 won't rent you a bedroom in someone's house. Two bedroom apartments in my area that you can sleep with both eyes closed go for over $1,700 a month, Houses go for $2,500 and up and nothing goes for $600.

Most realestate agents won't find renters... because they expect to get paid for their time. You have word of mouth... signs on windows... Newspaper ads... helps a LOT to ask people familiar with the areas because a lot of apartments are higher crime areas. Before you sign... look at it at night... when most people are home.. and not just during the day when most people are at work... meaning what looks nice during the day... can scare the hell out of you at night.
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Mar 18, 2013, 06:26 PM