Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    karthik28oct Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 8, 2013, 09:27 AM
    Income Tax for OPT Status (SSN and Medicare taxes)
    Hello.. I completed my masters in US and currently I am on OPT status.. I need to file taxes for the year 2012.

I heard that for OPT students, we don't need to pay SSN and Medicare tax. But as my employer is an American client, they don't know much about OPT status, I paid all my taxes as if I am on H1B through out the year.

1) So Is there any way I can claim that money back(ssn and medicare taxes).

2) I paid my college fee in the year 2011 but I don't have any incomes on 2011. Can I include those fee in 2012 tax returns. Thanks for your help..
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 8, 2013, 10:19 PM
    Karthik,

Print out pages 51-55 of IRS Pub 519, and show the payroll department that you were not supposed to pay FICA (Social Security and Medicare) taxes, and ask for a refund.

They may be reluctant to refund the money, but once you point out that THEY will nget a refund as well, they will find a way to make it happen, and you should get the money back in April.

The alternative is to submit Form 843 and 8316, plus a BUNCH of support documents, to the IRS and wait up to a YEAR to get the refund from them.

Sorry, but as a non-resident alien, your college fees are NOT deductible or eligible for any tax credits for either 2011 or 2012.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

H1b OPT medicare SSN taxes [ 4 Answers ]