Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Char23 Posts: 12, Reputation: 1

Feb 16, 2013, 10:52 PM
    Breastfeeding
    Is it bad to smoke if I breastfeed my newborn child?
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Feb 16, 2013, 10:55 PM
    Yes. The smoke will be on you. On your clothes, etc. The child will breathe this in. Unless you plan to take a shower after each cigarette, you shouldn't breastfeed.

Feb 16, 2013, 10:59 PM
    Breastfeeding
    What are the effects to your infant if you smoke marijuana and breastfeed?
    Expert

Feb 16, 2013, 11:05 PM
    Well, your child gets addicted to marijuana and you have your child placed in foster care.

What is more important to you? The drug or the innocent child?

I deliver babies for a living. I teach breastfeeding. People like you who even question this make me sick.

Feb 16, 2013, 11:10 PM
    Who says that I'm doing it?
    It's a simple question, Calm down .
    Your nobody to judge

Feb 16, 2013, 11:10 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by J_9 View Post
    Well, your child gets addicted to marijuana and you have your child placed in foster care.

What is more important to you? The drug or the innocent child?

I deliver babies for a living. I teach breastfeeding. People like you who even question this make me sick.

Who says that I'm doing it?
    It's a simple question, Calm down .
    Your nobody to judge
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Feb 16, 2013, 11:14 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Char23 View Post
    Your nobody to judge
    Yes, she is. She deals with new moms all the time and with breastfeeding.
    Expert

Feb 16, 2013, 11:18 PM
    I am a labor and delivery nurse as well as a neonatal nurse. Yes, I am one to judge. If you aren't the one doing it, then who is?

I can tell you horror stories of babies coming off common nicotine from cigarettes, you don't want me to go into the medicinal and legal aspects of illicit drugs such as marijuana.