Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    coffelt4az Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 14, 2013, 11:29 PM
    I work in Needles Ca. as a driver. California says work there you need a CA license. I live in Arizona and they say I have to have Arizona License. But I will lose my job, so got Ca. License with my real AZ address and got a ticket for it in AZ. What do I do

If I have a valid California drivers license and have never received a criminal or civil traffic ticket any where except for Arizona which issued me a ticket for not having a Arizona license. Now they have sent a hold to California and California says can't help me unless I clear the hold. To clear the hold I have to pay $797.30 and change my drivers license to Arizona. Then I won't be able to keep my local driving job in California. I have not done anything wrong, I have a home in Arizona and I work as a driver in California. I had a valid California drivers license with my valid Arizona address. How can Arizona ask me to break California Law and Lose my job?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Feb 15, 2013, 03:21 AM
    Drivers license are valid from one state to the other, you get your license from the state where you live.. California did not say you had to have a California license ( my guess) the company you worked for said that, and they were not properly informed.

You got the wrong license. So try to explain it to the judge, if not you pay the fine, get the correct licence in your home state.
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Feb 16, 2013, 08:21 AM
    What exactly is Arizona charging you with?
    • Driving in Arizona without a valid license? As Fr_Chuck indicates, Arizona is required to respect California licenses; I think it is required by the Full Faith and Credit Clause of the U.S. Constitution.
    • Driving in Arizona while being an Arizona resident without an Arizona license? That might be another matter.
    • Or is this a CDL matter?