Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cwade528 Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Jan 24, 2013, 09:25 PM
    Can't find transcripts from closed college
    I graduated from in 1981 from the Detroit Institute of Technology (DIT). I am planning to get a MBA and need transcripts. The college has been closed for over 25 years, but through research I found that the transcripts were sent to Lawrence Institute of Technology (LIT) which is also in the Detroit area. So, I contacted LIT and they are the caretakers / owners of the transcripts from DIT, but no one could not find any of my transcripts. I was referred to the Michigan Dept of Labor who supposedly had copies of the DIT records also. However, Mich DOL could not find transcripts for me in the year I graduated, nor the following year.

If I didn't have my degree hanging on the wall and some old copies of course records and grades, I would be hard pressed to prove I even went to college!

It seems that I am at a stand still. Does anyone have any additional ideas that can help me with this?. Frustrated!
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jan 24, 2013, 09:39 PM
    It was 25 years ago. Certainly the school you plan to get your MBA from will accept your explanation regarding all those phone calls (give them contact names and numbers so they can check up on you) and a photocopy of your degree hanging on the wall.

Jan 24, 2013, 10:09 PM