Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mogrann Posts: 860, Reputation: 193
    Dogs Expert

Dec 25, 2012, 09:31 PM
    Difference between teasing and being hurtful?
    I am sure most of you know how to tell the difference between the two but I don't. How can you tell the difference? I am still learning my interpersonal skills so can't go by how it makes me feel. Due to my BPD I am overly sensitive and don't read cues the same way. I am looking at ways to figure this out. Checking the facts does not work as I have still so many judgements that I am unsure if they are factual or not.
    How do you know if someone is just joking with you or if they are being rude/hurtful/bullying? There must be a way for others to figure this stuff out.
    teacherjenn4 Posts: 4,005, Reputation: 468
    Education Expert

Dec 25, 2012, 10:17 PM
    It's a fine line. I think any unwanted or persistent teasing is a form of bullying. If you bring it to someone's attention that you do not like it, and they persist in doing it, then again, they are being rude and hurtful. As a teacher, I do not tolerate any of this.
    Dogs Expert

Dec 26, 2012, 09:17 AM
    Maybe I am explaining it wrong. Sorry teacherjenn, I am meaning about the teasing between friends and co workers. Most times I am unsure if they are being insulting or teasing... I just don't get how to tell the difference. You know how you see good friends go back and forth with jokes and people laugh and chuckle over it. I just get all worried and scared that someone is angry or I have done something wrong. I just want to know how others know the difference? I really want to get this interpersonal stuff down so I can intereact with others normally. I mean that is why I am doing all of this work so I can be normal and not be worried all the time that I say or do the wrong thing.
    teacherjenn4 Posts: 4,005, Reputation: 468
    Education Expert

Dec 26, 2012, 10:03 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by mogrann View Post