Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    vidds Posts: 6, Reputation: 2

Mar 14, 2007, 10:38 AM
    Priorities at work vs personal life
    I have been working as a very senior manager and have built a very successful brand in an upcoming industry. But the work timings were close to14 hours everyday without a break and though I was very successful I started feeling very low and was constantly depressed as my 5 year old son was being taken care of my parents as I could hardly see him.

Even at home I was constantly on the phone. So I quit... thinking with my skills as I have close to 12 years experience in communication I will get a job after about 4-5 months of break.

And in the meanwhile I also attempted to do my m.phil.

Now I find that there are openings but again I am not open to long hours of work. I want to spend some time with my child as my husband also is not around. He is not much bothered and is too much into work, keeps travelling and just visits us every 3 months.
    Am I wrong in the way I am thinking. Will I be able to get a job to work the way I want.

Or will it not help me to move forward.

Have I done a mistake by stepping out of the rat race.
    dflak Posts: 18, Reputation: 3

Mar 15, 2007, 10:18 AM
    I'm not a very religious person, so if I can quote anything from the Bible, it's got to be some sort of miracle. So here it goes, from the Big Guy himself, "What does it profit a man if he gains the whole world and loses his soul?"

I recommend reading "Man's Search for Meaning" by Viktor Frankl. It's a short book and easy-to-read, but it will help put things in perspective.
    lacuran8626 Posts: 270, Reputation: 57

Apr 4, 2007, 07:50 AM