Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    renee31555 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 27, 2012, 11:56 PM
    Should I homeschool my children
    I am considering homeschooling my 6th grade son. He started middle school this year and is having a horrible go of it. He is writing defecient and the 'extra time' they have allotted through an IEP has not remedied the situation; he's struggled with it since 1st grade. I let them hold him back in first grade hoping he would 'catch up' on his fine motor skills and pick up on writing well. He can read above his grade level; comprehension is great.
    I am so intimidated by the public school. I don't know how to say, 'I am removing my child and teaching him at home'. I've read the Missouri statutes and I'm still confused. I attend University here and my major is Education however, I only have 15 credit hours completed. I went back to school because of the struggles my son has faced. The Elementary teachers were wonderful and helped him a lot, but the middle school teachers are leaving him behind and treating him as the lazy kid that doesn't want to write neatly. It breaks my heart. He wants to please so desperatley and stresses out to the point of tears when it takes him five hours to finish a writing assignment. He makes A's in math and science, but the mechanics of writing still make things difficult as his penmanship is so bad. I think I could do better! I think I could give him remedial writing education. He was never taught phonics, in my elementary years, phonics was a staple. Praying I make the right decision about this and God intervenes. Kudos to all of you worrying about the real things in life and loving your kids. It's 2 am here. Been looking at this homeschooling stuff since 9.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Oct 28, 2012, 05:18 AM