Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    amod767 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 1, 2012, 03:11 PM
    Sevis fee and opt
    Hi I am on F-1 visa and very close to graduating so I went to my DSO to apply for OPT. He asked me if I had paid the SEVIS fee -- which is the $200 fee you pay before applying for your visa. This was long time back in 2009 when I was applying for Spring 2010. I had applied to a bunch of schools and once I received my I-20 I applied for visa interview and paid my SEVIS fee under that school's SEVIS. After the visa interview I was granted the visa but the visa officer had advised me to get a new passport issued as my current passport was damaged. This took a while so I had to defer my acceptance in the 1st school and ask for my visa from another school on a different SEVIS and different I-20.

Now, my question is: If I have already paid the $200 fee under a different SEVIS do I have to pay the fee again because I was a continuing student under a different SEVIS? I read information on getting it transferred to another SEVIS. Can anyone help me out -- I do not want to lengthen this and wait around till my DSO gets back to me?

Thanks.

Check out some similar questions!

Can I claim child tax credit, daycare fee, tuition fee and mortgage interest? [ 1 Answers ]

I'm Canadian. I work in US but live in Canada. I commute to work everyday. I have two daughters: one is 11 years old and the other is 23, who is a graduate student in US. Both live with me. I filed 1040nr every year. My questions are: 1) Can I get child tax credit and deduct daycare fee for my...

Sevis termination on opt [ 0 Answers ]

I was an international student and I was on opt after completing my undergraduate in usa, But I left usa before my opt end date. I worked in USA just for 3 months after I got my EAD card. I have informed my school about my departure and the DSO terminated my SEVIS record as early withdrawal. Is it...