Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Shine Posts: 27, Reputation: 2

Mar 9, 2007, 01:16 PM
    Need able addressing legal/criminal issues
    my husband (although we are not "legally married") and i have some issues we are trying to resolve. i am a graduate student and he works from home making jewlery. he has had some past legal criminal trouble we are trying to sort out on a very very very limited budget. i am about to get a job overseas and we dont know if convicted felons can leave the country or get a passport? also and here is the clincher.....he was convicted of forgery, but it really wasnt his fault and he had a crappy public defender, this happend about 4 years ago. he did some work for a guy and the guy wrote him a check and when my husband cashed the check, 3 months later the police arrest him for forgery because the check turned out to be stolen. my husband didnt know and the check was for less than $500 dollars. anyway....he was sentenced to time served and probation and fines. but he skipped out on probation after 6 months for various reasons, anyway what could we do to resolve this situation. he has been living a good clean life and wants to face up to past mistakes, but doesnt want to go to prison or be judged for the rest of his life for something he didnt even do.

thanks for anyone that has good advice.:confused:
    Lowtax4eva Posts: 2,467, Reputation: 190
    Ultra Member

Mar 9, 2007, 01:28 PM
    What country are you in?

In the US anyone with a warrant or who cannot leave the country because of being on parole (if leaving the country is forbidden as a condition of parole) will be denied a passport, they check your name against a list of people who are to be refused a passport, the link below will give all the details.

Passport Information for Criminal Law Enforcement Officers

If he has skipped out on his probation and never took care of it he may have more problems than just being denied a passport.

Mar 9, 2007, 01:30 PM