Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    LilMissS88 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Sep 12, 2012, 02:59 PM
    Hostile work environment or being discriminated?
    Hey all

I am not sure whether I am being discriminated against or not so would appreciate your thoughts.

Background info: After I joined two new employees were recruited to build a bigger team. Both are in a senior role to me but we all report into the same manager - note I do not report into these two new co-workers. We all do the same work - i.e. they manage projects and whilst I am a supporting person my manager allows me to occasionally manage projects too as she knows I want to move up to senior role.

Issue: My (male) colleague had a meeting with me to feedback on issues in some work submitted to a client. Happily had the meeting and agreed to all his points - at this point he was not blaming me for these mistakes they were proofing mistakes not picked up by someone else and just want to point them out so I have no issue about this.

The following day he wants another meeting. I ask him what the meeting is for as I have a client deadline to meet by end of the day and I cannot guarantee when that work will go as it needs approval from senior directors. He won't tell me what it is for so I ask again and he refuses to tell me and in my opinion aggressively says to me book the meeting in (repeated this several times). At which point I gave in and booked one in - evidently I had to cancel it so I did telling him why - client work not finished. Client work went in at 5pm, he was in a meeting so I went to talk to someone just for a break as I didn't have a single break all day not even one for lunch. I come back after 5 minutes and ask both my colleagues including him if there is anything they need me for as I want to leave 10 minutes early to catch an earlier train as I would like to attend a family pre-wedding party. Everyone including him was fine with it.