Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    C0bra_M3nace Posts: 1,296, Reputation: 223
    Ultra Member

Aug 3, 2012, 10:52 AM
    Nail Biting
    Hey guys,

So basically I'm a professional nail biter. It's a terrible terrible habit, but I just can't bring myself to stop. I've done it for as long as I can remember, right back into my childhood.

I've tried a few things to try and kick it. I bought a nail polish that's supposed to help. It's clear and tastes like crap, but my busy schedule keeps my mind away from putting it on. I tried gum to keep my mouth busy, but it was far to easy to keep doing it even with gum in my mouth. Believe it or not, sunflower seeds works wonders, however, unless you work outside, which I don't, then it's rather unsanitary to keep a cup full of saliva coated seed shells with me so it's only something I can do outside of work.

I guess I'm just wondering if anyone has any formal reason as to why one bites their nails. Is it boredom, stress or does it go deeper than that? I wonder, if I could find an explanation, that I could ail myself of the habit.

Thanks for your time!

If someone feels as if this post is in the wrong category, please feel free to move it. I was not specifically sure as to where the best place to put it would be. Thanks.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Aug 3, 2012, 12:35 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by C0bra_M3nace View Post
    Hey guys,

So basically I'm a professional nail biter. It's a terrible terrible habit, but I just can't bring myself to stop. I've done it for as long as I can remember, right back into my childhood.